Film Review: Spider-Man: Far From Home

Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) is directed by Jon Watts and stars Tom Holland, Zendaya, Jake Gyllenhaal, Samuel L. Jackson, and Jacob Batalon.

This is the second Spider-Man film in this franchise with Tom Holland and I am really enjoying his portrayal. In this one, he goes to Europe for a school trip and is bombarded with superhero responsibilities when Mysterio (Gyllenhaal) tries to stop these elemental creatures and Nick Fury needs Spider-Man to step up. Things don’t go exactly as planned and his identity is threatened.

Mysterio has always been one of my favorite villains because of his costume and demeanor. I also grew up playing the second Spider-Man game on the ps2 and was always playing on the Mysterio fun house level and then the giant one you have to beat. So, when I found out that one of my favorite actors was playing one of my favorite villains, then obviously I was hyped for this film. And in this sector of the film, it didn’t disappoint. There was a fun home type of scene that made me think back to the game and I loved it. It was probably the best scene in the film for me. Gyllenhaal did great portraying him and the suit looked great.

MV5BN2Y2ZWY4N2EtYTJmZS00ODVkLWE3ZDgtMjAwMTg5MGY2ZDUwXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjczOTE0MzM@._V1_

The film takes place after the events in Endgame, so there’s no Avengers to be brought in to help Peter. He has to learn to be a hero and luckily, Stark built him EDITH which is a computer program like JARVIS. It’s really cool and high-tech. There was a lot of remembrance of Stark throughout, so that was nice to see.

The action, as always in Marvel films, are great. Tension building and CGI fight sequences that are great on the big screen. It was filled with good laughs and the side characters did their job. It definitely proceeds the previous film, Homecoming.

MV5BMGU5ZjU1ZTQtZmI1OS00NjBhLWFiMWQtNWZjZjI4ZDRiZGRjXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjQ4ODE4MzQ@._V1_

So what’s good?

  •  CGI is top notch and perfect for Mysterio’s illusions
  •  Action is tensioned perfectly
  •  Tom Holland did great at expressing his stress as Spider-Man

What’s bad?

  •  I wish there was a better sense of urgency or danger.
  •  Predictable

For these reasons, I am giving Spider-Man: Far From Home a 8/10. Remember to watch through all the credits.

 

All pics are from imdb.com

 

Leave a comment