Best Halloween Films 2020

Times change which means you change. It’s been a year since the post about what you should watch for Halloween. Time for a new one!

  1. Beetlejuice (1988) – is fun and imaginative with a sparky attitude. It’s me and boyfriend’s tradition to watch Beetlejuice every October. The soundtrack is laughable fun and Keaton is amazing as the main antagonist. And OMG the style of the film is unique. It’s premature humor towards the afterlife and handbook of the recently deceased is what makes me love this film ever more. Definitely a go-to for Halloween.
  2. The Witch (2015) – is verbally impressive with it’s old English language and direction towards what is and what isn’t, is compounding to me. The Witch uncovers the true horrors of witches in the night and the day with losing a baby in the middle of the night, to a sickness that makes them dance and say crazy things, to dancing by the fire naked. It’s more symbolic and not your run of the mill horror film, but I love it. Try watching it. Like really sit down, put the phone away, and watch this.
  3. Scream (1996) – is goofy and terrifying at the same time. I hate it, but like to watch it for the satire of horror that it is.
  4. The Shining (1980) – is a classic. The film is long and cold and then starts to creep up on you. If you have never seen The Shining, then now is the time to watch it. Jump scares and creepy unwarranted scenes make me wonder why Stephen King hated this.
  5. The Witches (1990) – is Hocus Pocus to me. Hocus Pocus is a fine film and all, but I never watched it until recently. I didn’t understand the hype around it. The Witches is what nostalgia films mean to me just like how it Hocus Pocus means to others. Plus, it has Morticia Addams in it! Amazing special effects and a mask that still scares me to this day. It’s a kiddie film, but it’s fun and honestly, pretty scary if you think about it.
  6. The Conjuring (2013) – yes, I know everyone has seen this movie, but it’s a classic horror film. Spooky and filled with jump scares and silent moments that make my skin crawl. Plus, it’s based on the true haunting of the place. The acting is great too.
  7. Sinister (2012) – I haven’t seen this in awhile, but in theaters I remember being terrified. The imagery is terrifying and the entire movie has no happiness to it. It’s dread and it’s perfect for those nights you want something more scary and horrifyingly disappointing for the characters. Jump scares and dread.
  8. Insidious (2010) – is another ghost/demon story that is very scary to me still. The imagery and silence in some scenes really do it for me. However, the soundtrack is what really makes this film scary. The opening title sequence with the jarring blaring music all of a sudden and the demon in the background of THAT SCENE…. it’s scary okay? Remember watching it for the first time? Scared the crap out of me!
  9. Trick r’ Treat (2007) – is a classic. Watch this film. Just do it.
  10. Coraline (2009) – is amazing. I have thought about getting a Coraline inspired tattoo for some time now. An animated children’s film for a Halloween movie? Yes. Imagine going into another realm that is almost like yours, but isn’t. The button eyes and crazy personalities that differ from the original….it’s eerie. Plus, the animation is just beautiful and unique to look at. I’m thinking about viewing pleasure to. When her fake mom turns into the spider lady…. that messed me up. It makes you think about what would happen if you went to another realm. Would it be so different? Would you stay?

That’s me list this year. It’s been more difficult to take time out of my schedule to watch films, plus with this COVID thing going on…. it’s just been a different year.

Enjoy Halloween y’all. Stay safe and wear your mask.

Sk

Leave a comment