Travel Experiences – ITALY (part 2)

Welcome back! As the title permits, this is part 2 of the travel experience segment on Italy. I’ll cover my experience on my last trip there as well as some tips!

I went back to Italy this past summer to visit my dad and my stepmom. They were in the process of waiting to move to a new house, so my stay was in different bed and breakfast’s in the area. We would go to the new house to check on the process and take a look at the scenery. For a visual, I’ll insert a photo of the scenery just outside a window:

28056756_1626368814123591_2511167656203604410_nWe went to different areas like Udine, Venice (yes, again), Verona, Cittadella, Asiago, Vicenza, and Aviano. Different restaurants, cafés, gelaterias, and pizzerias were an everyday occurrence so I definitely gained 10 pounds there.


There was this one restaurant in the mountains that we went to a couple times. Literally the best food I’ve ever had and I’ve had a lot… It’s called “Romano Dal 1936.” Here are some photos of the food:

Here’s two tips:

  • Don’t order coffee/latte’s until after you eat! It’s a custom that should be upheld there.
  • Drink a local wine with dinner if you can. Prosecco is my choice.

Moving on, my dad and I went to Verona for a day and had the best time. It was a lot of walking and it was really hot that day, but it was worth it. Here’s some photos:

The third photo on there is of a whale’s rib hanging in the middle of Verona. No one knows how it got there. Seriously, look it up: Arco della Costa.

Here’s some tips:

  • Spend the night here so you don’t have to cram everything into one day. Plus, they have some very nice hotels.
  • This one is obvious: take walking shoes. You’ll be grateful for them.

I went to Vicenza by myself for a day. It was my first experience in a foreign country completely on my own and it went well! I bought the ticket for every museum/churches/theaters in the area, so I just spent the day walking around and learning about everything I could. My favorite place was the Teatro Olimpico. The first indoor theater by beloved architect, Andrea Palladio (Italy is obsessed with him). I actually got my air dyed green after this place, so I’ll include a photo of that as well because why not?


Venice will always be one of my favorite places to be. It’s lively, interesting, and there’s always somewhere to go. This past trip was one of the hottest days, so it was pretty dreadful, but it was still nice to go back.


Cittadella was a interesting place as well because of the wall that surrounded it. We walked on the entire thing and it wasn’t busy there at all. We stopped at a café and had some chips and a Spritz, a prosecco/aperol orange beverage that’s so delicious on a hot day. Definitely recommend going if you have a few extra hours.


I’ve saved the best for last… Asiago. Yes, like the cheese. It’s situated on a high plateau in northern Italy with cooler weather, beautiful landscapes, and nice walking areas. I absolutely loved it there and wish that we could of stayed longer. We walked up to the World War I memorial, through the town, in the shops, and sat outside a café.

Here’s some tips:

  • There’s a lot of people who bring their dogs there, so be okay with that.
  • Bring a light jacket, especially if your there in the summer. It was hot and humid everywhere else, but breezy and cooler there.
  • Try their pastries at a local café. DELICIOUS.

I went to other places as well like Udine, but I figured this post was long enough, so I’ll stop here. Thanks so much for reading and looking at my photos. I really hope you all get to go to Italy, especially these areas. Comment on what place you would like to visit/live in Italy!

Next will be on my experience in Germany!

 

Leave a comment